Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is this gluten free Muesli acceptable for a Paleo Diet? page

Jboyd88 is offline Junior Member

Question Is this gluten free Muesli acceptable for a Paleo Diet?

Primal Fuel
    Hi,

I'm just starting out on the a Paleo diet and currently doing a lot of experimenting, mainly trying to find ways to re-create food I used to love but cant eat any more.

Anyway, I say a video on youtube for home made Paleo Muesli so I thought I'd try it out as some sort of a cereal would be great in the morning. I havent tried it yet but I have bought all the ingredients and to be honest the nuts are too expensive and this doesn't seam like something I could really afford to eat on a regular bases (broke student).

When I was shopping though I found Gluten free toasted muesli.

Its ingrediants are: Buckwheat 20%, pumpkin seeds 14%, sunflower seeds 14%, raisins 14%, sultanas 14%, shredded coconut 9%, honey 5%, crisped rice 4% (rice, sugar), linseeds 4%, almond oil, sugar, cinnamon 0.2%.

Nutritional information:
    Typical values per 100g
    Energy 1929kJ/461kcal
    Protein 11.7g
    Carbohydrate 53.2g
    (of which sugars)34.6g
    Fat 22.8g
    (of which saturates)8.6g
    Fibre 2.0g
    Sodium trace

I realise that this has 'Crisped Rice' in it. Does that rule it out as sometihng I should be eating?

I had some just now with almond milk and it was pretty good and much cheaper than buying nuts each time.

Let me know your thoughts,
    Cheers,
    Jamie

P.S. I'm not sure if this is healthful to know or not but I also plan on a intense exercise plan with goals of being super fit and energetic and also to have well defined muscles and low body fat. At the moment I am skinny so I need to build muscle.
    Last edited by Jboyd88; 09-20-2011 at 04:42 AM.

Lars86 is offline Senior Member