Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Calling all primal starch eaters, GTFIH page

colejames is offline Member

Calling all primal starch eaters, GTFIH

I'm a male college student, my diet consists of 100% primal on weekdays, and nonprimal on weekends (more practical as a college kid) Besides, just by being privy to this lifestyle, I'm already eating healthier than 95% of my campus despite lax weekends.

Anyway, I have a very low% bodyfat, probably sub-10%, and its been this way my whole life, even on the SAD. This is why when I eat primal, I include a good number of carbs, from white rice and potatoes, bananas, yams, etc. The problem is, although I understand that saturated fat or fats in general do not cause high cholesterol or heart problems, and its actually the carbs that cause cardiovascular disease, isn't it true that carbs on their own cannot cause these problems, and must be in the company of dietary fat? My understanding is that excessive insulin causes these cardiovascular problems, but it's the dietary fat in the presence of this excess that then starts clogging arteries or promoting inflammation. If I eat a meal high in carbs without the fat, wouldn't the damage be mitigated?

In a nutshell. my question is this: If you eat primally, is it still important to eat carbs and fats in separate meals? So for example a meal should be either high in carbs + protein, or fat + protein, but not carbs + fat since that is when insulin is high, but dietary fat is also being absorbed in the bloodstream, which leads to all the nasty problems.
    Last edited by colejames; 09-19-2011 at 08:31 PM.

IcarianVX is offline Senior Member