Thread: Does carrying around my kiddos count as "Lifting Heavy Things"? page

McChunky is offline Member

Does carrying around my kiddos count as "Lifting Heavy Things"?

Primal Fuel
    I've been following the PBF methodology for a couple months now but I'm starting to wonder if I'm overdoing it since I'm already quite active with two little kids.

I'm always lifting, carrying and picking them up (18 & 25 pounds each). I know it's what I'm built to do but wondering if the two extra days of weight-training is really necessary for me...

Any thoughts here?

Hedonist is offline Senior Member
    Nice, helpful people here are going to tell you a whole lot of things you should do. But in fact you are getting the same exercises as your grandmothers going back to when they were swinging in trees. MORE

Ignore the nice, helpful people. Get your rest.
    Ancestral Health Info

I design websites and blogs for a living. If you would like a blog or website designed by someone who understands Primal, see my web page.

Primal Blueprint Explorer My blog for people who are not into the Grok thing. Since starting the blog, I have moved close to being Archevore instead of Primal. But Mark's Daily Apple is still the best source of information about living an ancestral lifestyle.

FairyRae is offline Senior Member
    Depends on your goals. I have a 4yo (45 lbs) and do my fair share of lifting, carrying, walking w/ him in a backpack etc. That helps me to be better at lifting and carrying heavy things for sure (esp him ). I do have other goals including getting better at my yoga (so I practice yoga for this, as well as specific bodyweight movements that help.) Handstand push ups and pistol squats are some of my future goals, so I work towards those as well.

You can absolutely have functional strength doing what you are doing. If you feel like you have other specific goals you want to address, go for it.
    My Before/After Pics