Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Almonds page

cjbaum is offline Junior Member

Almonds

Shop Now
    Besides calories, is there any other health downsides to consuming 1 cup of Raw almonds 5 days a week or so ?

Apex Predator is offline Senior Member
    Depends on the context of your diet(esp how much o6 you are getting) and how your gut handles them. While there are a lot worse things to consume, there are also a lot better.

Heidi is offline Senior Member
    The omega-6 content could be a concern in large amounts.
    I'm retraining and strengthening my taste buds, one primal meal at a time.

Quote Originally Posted by Apex Predator View Post
    Depends on the context of your diet(esp how much o6 you are getting) and how your gut handles them. While there are a lot worse things to consume, there are also a lot better.
    Well thats kind of why i ask. Im new to the whole primal diet and only about halfway through the book. My daily diet now usually consists of below, but im finding that the almonds are starting to upset my stomach a little. Being that im not trying to loose weight exactly, i have been using the almonds to bridge the gap in calories / protien.

Breakfast
    3/4 whole eggs
    2 pieces of toast & peanut butter (I know, i havent been able to kick this yet !)

Pre-lunch
    1/2 cup of almonds
    Fruit

Lunch
    Tuna salad with sliced almonds and cranberries

Postlunch
    1/2 cup almonds
    Fruit

Preworkout / PostWorkout
    Protien

Dinner

Adrianag is offline Senior Member
    1. 16 grams of carbs
    2. lots of inflammatory PUFA Omega 6 fats

Quote Originally Posted by Heidi View Post
    The omega-6 content could be a concern in large amounts.
    Great Info. Thanks

Apex Predator is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by cjbaum View Post