My tech specs: Male, caucasian, 23 years, 5'11" (180 cm), ~180 lbs (~80 kg), mechanical engineer working a desk job 40h/week.

So, I ran across Primal Blueprint last spring or summer, a bit over a year ago. At that time I was around 210 pounds at 5'11".

I was 22 years old, and I felt fat and tired.

I went Primal and lost about 35 pounds in 4 months or so, with very little effort. I didn't do a lot of exercising, but I was looking and feeling better. However, ever since then (maybe December '10), I really haven't made any progress. My feeling is that this is because I have never been compliant enough, for long enough, to "finish the job" so to speak and really lose that last ~10-15 pounds of fat that is stubbornly clinging to my midsection. I am definitely not in the camp that seems to get away with 80/20 Primal and everything just falls into place. My metabolism is damaged from being born to an obese mother--and being raised on the same SAD that made her that way--my digestion has always sucked (IBS), and despite actually being fairly coordinated and athletic (for a chubby kid), I was never any good at team sports and never really played outside as a kid, except at school, because my parents were afraid to let me loose in our neighborhood.

I have never been lean, not since I was old enough to remember anyway (old pictures reveal that I became chubby around the age of 4), so I don't know what it feels like or what I will look like when I am there. I really want to find out. But I seem to have a hard time with compliance. I am totally, irritatingly addicted to sugar. I can't have it in the house or I will eventually eat it. And then I get guilty, derail, and waste several days feeling like crap and getting my diet back in order. Not exactly productive, progressive behavior.

So, this journal is my latest attempt to help myself continue helping myself. I am a LOT healthier than I was this time last year--I am stronger, fitter, faster, and much less fat. But I have a way to go.

I don't own a scale, so I will only be sporadically weighing myself, which is fine. I don't like to watch a number not change day by day. I might be able to weigh in every few weeks. But I think what I will do is keep weekly track of my neck, waist, hip, thigh, and biceps measurements. I will also be keeping track of what I eat (not in a weighed/measured way, just descriptive) and what activities I do every day.

I also have a few guidelines that I hope this journal will help me keep in mind every day. I want to get in the habit of making one entry every morning that will remind of the following:

1. I will not eat anything today that is not real food that will nourish me, nor drink anything poisonous (grains, processed "treats", desserts, soft drinks, etc.).
2. I will eat and drink those things that provide real nourishment for my mind and body, and which improve my well-being (plants and animals, tea, water, and a little coffee in the mornings).
3. I will not sabotage my own success by chemically impairing my willpower (alcohol, marijuana).
4. I will encourage my success by careful planning and preparedness (make food ahead of time, bring Primal snacks like boiled eggs and jerky when food availability is uncertain).
5. I will not sacrifice sleep, play, or real social interaction for computer or TV time, which are not fulfilling or healing.
6. I will make significant time every day for my fiancee, my dog, and myself to interact, relax, laugh, and play.
7. I will not forgo exercise or activity out of laziness or anything other than genuine illness.
8. I will make and adhere to an exercise schedule that includes frequent easy movement, weekly sprinting, and twice-weekly heavy resistance training.

To boil it down: eat food, not poison; plan for success, don't settle for failure; live your real life, don't settle for a virtual one; move and grow, don't sit and atrophy.

So, today I got up about 7:00 and I had a cup of coffee with some probiotics. I wasn't very hungry because we ate a big dinner last night, so I didn't eat until around 9, at which point I had two boiled eggs. My fiancee left for a trip with her mom about the same time. She'll be gone around a week. For lunch I made a pound of bacon and a huge bowl of mixed greens, and ate everything together. Delicious. Later, I smoked a bowl (Fail #1) and then proceeded to find and destroy a small tin of delicious, deadly cookies in the cupboard (Fail #2). Parents were passing through town so we went out to dinner and I got a delicious steak with vegetables (win).

On the upside, I went on an "urban territory patrol" for about 40 minutes that basically involved fractally run/walking to the nearby park and around my neighborhood. It was 1PM and hot (~100F) so I made a game out of sprinting for shade, squatting under trees and bushes to cool down, then trotting or walking further, etc. Good workout, felt really good to get home and have a big glass of water though.

My measurements as of 9/18/11:

Neck: 15"
Waist (at navel): 36"
Hips (widest point): 36"
Biceps: 14"
Thigh: 26"

I did those with a USB cable and a steel tape, so they're definitely approximate. I'll try and get some better numbers when the fiancee returns and she can help me (she carries a cloth tape in her purse too, which would help). This gives an estimated body fat percentage of 20%. So I have some work to do! My goal is to hit 10%, and I'm hoping to do it before the year is out! I want to look damn sharp in my wedding pictures, so I have until April to get ripped.

I want to work more motion into my day. I have already modified my desk with some concrete blocks so I am standing at work. I have been going to the gym 2x/week already to lift (started 3 weeks ago), so that's good. The two main things I want to change are 1) sprint once a week, and 2) walk for at least an hour total every day. I am going to try to walk the dog 30 minutes before breakfast, and 30 minutes when I get home from work. Tomorrow morning, it begins...