Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Getting motivated for morning workouts? page

Dan208 is offline Senior Member

Getting motivated for morning workouts?

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    I've got a question for those of you that do morning workouts. How do you motivate yourself to get up and do them? I've never been a morning person and I'm usually so sluggish and sore in the morning that there's no way I can do much more than lifting a coffee cup.

I'm just starting out on Primal and am still trying to phase out all the junk. Mornings seem like the most logical time for me to actually get in a "structured" workout, but I'm having so much trouble trying to do it. I enjoy working out but life usually seems to get in the way later on in the day, and I don't want to force myself to do it early and end up burning myself out.

Thoughts or suggestions? I'm thinking of doing some Grease the Groove type stuff throughout the day with pullups and pushups. Morning workouts would consist of sandbags and/or kettlebells. I want to save the walking and sprinting for later on in the evenings when my wife gets home from work since she wants to join me.

So my main question is how to get motivated for morning workouts?

Timothy is offline Senior Member
    I have never been a morning person either. My morning exercise consists of 10-15 minutes of sledgehammer before going to work, but it's more of a stretching/warmup than an actual workout. I find that I have lots more energy later in the day, so I save the real effort for then.

My suggestion is to go to bed early, start small in the morning -- maybe as little as 5 minutes at first -- and work up from there. In the end, though, I think some of us just aren't cut out for massive morning exertion.

Dan208 is offline Senior Member
    Yeah I was thinking of something quick, like a few yoga movements and such. Maybe that will get me a little more "in the mood".

kitoi is offline Senior Member