Thread: Primal Journal (otraynor) page

otraynor is offline Junior Member

Primal Journal (otraynor)

Primal Fuel
    Hello All,

I am a long time reader, but this is my first attempt at posting or commenting. Paleo first entered my radar when John Durant of Hunter-Gatherer.com was a guest of the Colbert Report. I had been tested for Celiac in the past (positive blood work, negative endoscopy), so any talk of a gluten free diet was newly intriguing. Starting with Hunter-Gatherer, I began to read blogs and books on the Paleo lifestyle, and how it could be the answer to my new dietary restrictions. It is also worth mentioning that I am a collegiate rower at a D-I program, so I needed a diet that would be able to support that kind of workload.

I began seriously following a gluten free diet this past summer, and re-read Loren Cordain's The Paleo Diet for Athletes. Burned out from a long nine months of training and racing, I took a 4-week hiatus from any physical activity and gained about 15 pounds, leveling off at about 212. I am 6'4", so I do not suddenly consider myself fat; however, it was the heaviest I had ever been. More importantly, in rowing one's strength to weight ratio is quite important. Anyone can pull good numbers on an erg (the rowing machine). The real challenge lies in pulling your own weight down the course more efficiently than the next guy. Hence, my decision to get back down to ~200lbs.

Just this morning I weighed in at 207, after an easy, morning row in the pair. Returning to my house, I decided to see if my man Mark had any tips for the day. I am glad that I checked MDA today, because this 30-Day Challenge is exactly what I need. Accountability is one of the core mantras of my team. Though I may not get any readers here, the sense of accountability inherent in such a public forum will serve only to ignite a greater passion for the Challenge.