Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How do I KNOW I am burning fat? Newbie here! page

Shami Guest

Shop Now

Hi! I am confused. I followed the PB for one week and not one pound lost. Went off (due to incredible temptations on vacation) for one week my heartburn came back and I felt terrible. I am so tired of being tired. So, I started eating primal now and I do love how I feel. Wow, I am having trouble sleeping at night. Have so much energy.

I want my body to burn my extra 55 lbs. of fat, not my fat/protein from food, right?

How do I know if my body is using the stored fat, instead of the fat from my food?

This whole way of eating makes so much sense to me, even the IF. I don't have Mark's book, yet, so I am relying on this website and your comments. Thanks everyone!

Grumpycakes is offline Senior Member

In a week? You could buy ketosis strips and test your urine. But why bother? Have some patience and wait a month and then weigh yourself.

You lousy kids! Get off my savannah!

Shami Guest

Patience? What's that? Don't have ANY! Can I buy a bottle of patience somewhere?

I guess I was looking for some formula to jump start the fat burning off of my too large body. After a little more reading in the weight loss section, it seems people either do something like the first two weeks of atkins or they keep their carbs under 50g.

Any one else have a quick answer for a newbie...a very impatient newbie! lol Maybe try IF. Or am I too new to the program to do that?

newmama Guest

I'm also new, and I have been doing it one week too. I would guess you don't instantly start burning fat, but I have lost a couple of pounds this week. Just hang in there. Every body is different, so maybe your system needs more time. I can send you a bottle of patience.

rphlslv is offline Senior Member

You'll notice a different smell - not a good one though. I think it comes out of your nose as you exhale. That tells you something's happening.

Or is it just me?