Thread: RDOwens: Blueprint of My Success page

RDOwens is offline Junior Member

RDOwens: Blueprint of My Success

Shop Now
    I've come to primal living via a few paths. Family will tell you that philosophically, I have been aligned with the lifestyle and have been for years. Living it, however, has been less than successful.

At the beginning of April it just kind of clicked: I'm a middle-aged man whose government labels him obese. I had never dieted nor tried to lose weight. My once fairly active life had become rather sedentary. My wife put me in touch with her trainer. I began working out twice a week and counting calories. As a school teacher, I upped that to thrice a week for the summer. From mid-April to the beginning of August I had lost 45 pounds. My once bulging gut had then shrunk enough that I considered my body shape in the normal range.

Sensing I was going to give up my trainer due to the financial burden, I began researching weight training routines for me to complete at the public gym. That brought me to another site. There there is a large population who keep paleo. I tried it, lost 10 pounds immediately. I also lost all strength and I was miserable. After a week to 10 days, I bailed.

But I kept reading. After a vacation, I returned. I realized I wasn't eating enough. Again, I lost 10 pounds immediately. The weight is now holding steady. I keep thinking I am not working out enough, but that probably isn't it.

I am pretty good keeping primal. I haven't addressed the Diet Coke yet. I picked up some dried fruit and was surprised to see there was sugar added there. Sigh . . .

I eat too many nuts. Almonds and cashew butter I think are too much for my weight loss. I also seem, which seems to rival what little I have picked up here so far, to have gains when I consume bacon. When I don't, I drop the pound or two I pick up when I eat it. Odd. I like bacon, but it isn't cooperating with me.