Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Torrie - Primal Challenge Journal page

Torrie is offline Junior Member

Torrie - Primal Challenge Journal

Shop Now
    Hi I'm Torrie and I have a carbohydrate addiction.

I have been eating primarily Paleo for the last several months with wonderful results in weightloss, strength, and conditioning. However, I ALWAYS fall off the wagon and for the last two months I have fallen off the cliff into the usual pool of processed carbs (I'm a popcorn fanatic!) and not ironically, exercise as well. So after weeks of sore feet and hands (water retention and arthritis), sore back, foggy mind, etc. this challenge comes in good timing. Luckily the muscle mass I put on has helped keep my weight down so I only have 10 more pounds to go. My goal is to NOT return to the yoyo cycle of carb addiction.

I know that my body stores grains and legumes as FAT pure and simple. I also have Hashimotos disease where my body attacks my own thyroid thus a have hypothyrodism. Even when I was all raw my body wouldn't let go of the fat because of all the grain I was eating. Paleo changed everything.

My exercise goals are to walk 30 min./5 days/wk and start rehabilitating my dog after her knee surgery, strength training 1 hr./3 days/wk, yoga/stretching 90 min. wk, plyometrics 1 hr. wk, martial arts 1 hr./4 days/wk (getting ready for tournament so it's usually 2 days/wk), play is badmitton 2 hrs. 1 -2 days/wk. Some might say that my exercise could be excessive; however, with hyperthyroidism I had to find the right combination of food and exercise in order to maintain a healthy weight and I found that I needed to have a bit more exercise to counterattack my bodies habit of wanting to store fat.

I wish everyone taking the Primal Challenge the best and am free for comments, support or feedback.

Cheers,
    Torrie

Hedonist is offline Senior Member
    Welcome Torrie! Remember that you are driving the wagon not just riding. Grok on!
    Ancestral Health Info