Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Primal Journal (London Mike) page

London Mike is offline Junior Member

Primal Journal (London Mike)

Shop Now
    Hi Groks and Grokettes. I'm Mike and I live in London, England. I'm 40 years old and I'm obese.

I'm new to this. I mean blogging. I usually shy away from putting myself 'out there' but something has to change because it's not working. You see, I've been reading MDA for maybe 3 years now and despite a total, 100% buy in and many (failed) attempts at going primal I'm still fat.

I've always been fat or obese except for two short periods in my life...

When I was 17 years old I decided to stop eating fried food to lose weight. I don't know why I chose to drop just fried food, I just did. I was lifting weights regularly and occasionally played football (that's soccer to my American friends) and I lost almost all my fat effortlessly.

However when I was 20 I left home and the combination of working long hours, financial constraints (I had rent to pay you know!), going out till late and little desire to cook, meant that my mum's home cooking was replaced with fast food and I soon ballooned back to obese.

When I was 30 I weighed 100kg/220lb. I hired a personal trainer (for about a year) who I must admit whipped me into the best shape of my life from a cardio/strength perspective. Even though my weight loss quickly plateaued at 90kg/200lb I could run on a treadmill for an hour at a pace of 10k/hr and felt like I could bench press a cow (and then eat it). But I was still fat.

My second period of slimness came a few years later. A friend of mine leant me a book called Peak Performance, Radiant Health by Brian Peskin which essentially describes a 'low grade' low carb diet. I read it cover to cover and I was sold.