Thread: Fireline Meal ideas!!! page

D_Virgil is offline Junior Member

Fireline Meal ideas!!!

Shop Now
    Hi all!

I am brand new to this site but not new to the paleo/crossfit lifestyle I live. I am hoping for help, guidence, and opionions from anyone and everyone willing to help!

My name is Dustin; I am a 27 year old firefighter for Cal Fire here in California and I am very motivated to address a health and nutrition issue that I see in our department.

I will try to get straight to the point. Cal Fire travels the state fighting campaign wildfires yearly and we are commonly put in the position to work 24 and sometimes 48 hours straight on the fireline with no sleep. We are given "fireline lunches" to pack in our gear and eat throughout our shifts. A common lunch consists of a bag of M&M's, two hoagie sandwiches (white bread), cheap trailmix usually with candy in it, box juice, an occasional piece of fruit, cookies, and whatever else random they can think to throw in. Fact is, they just have a "calorie number" they must reach, so they throw all this junk in. I know that these lunches they provide for us are not nutritionally sound and I constantly hear complaints from all the firefighters about them, and at least half the lunch gets thrown out. We get the quick sugar high, followed by a hard crash. I have now recently started packing paleo kits so that I don't need to eat all that garbage; but the reality is that when we are stuck out there burning that much fuel, I often don't get a choice.