Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help! I'm stuck in a conventional wisdom nutrition course! page

TheCavewoman is offline Junior Member

Help! I'm stuck in a conventional wisdom nutrition course!

Primal Fuel
    Hi all,

As a nursing student, I'm required to take a course on nutrition. I had my first class yesterday and my professor seems as if she would be the perfect spokes person for the USDA nutrition guidelines! Pretty much the second thing out of her mouth was condemning saturated fat.

I was wondering if any of you, either on the road to becoming an RD or for another degree, have had experience sitting through a course on nutrition and how you approached the class.

I know we will have to complete a dietary assessment on ourselves, and at this point I don't know if I should try to explain myself or just make up the assignment! It's frustrating knowing that, in my professor's eyes, I'm just plain wrong.

Thanks in advanced!
    The Cavewoman's Lunch Box - Creative meal ideas for a Paleolithic diet

Zophie is offline Senior Member
    I think you are just going to have to do what you need to to pass the class. Good luck!

diploid is offline Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Zophie View Post
    I think you are just going to have to do what you need to to pass the class. Good luck!
    All men can see these tactics whereby I conquer, but what none can see is the strategy out of which victory is evolved.
    Our own life is the instrument with which we experiment with the truth.

norak is offline Senior Member
    Eating whole foods like meat, fish, fowl, vegetables, fruits, nuts and berries is against the USDA nutrition guidelines?
    Norak's Primal Journal:
    2010-07-23: ~255lbs, ~40.0"
    2011-11-03: ~230lbs, ~35.5"
    2011-12-07: ~220lbs, ~34.0"

Grizz is offline Banned
    Cavewoman,

You are being trained to give people the wrong advice. Please read this book by Cardiologist Dr. Wm Davis, Wheat Belly.

Here is a book review: