Thread: Yoga meshing with Primal? page

AbigailLyn is offline Senior Member

Yoga meshing with Primal?

Hey all -
    Wanted to get some input from y'all on a topic that's been on my mind lately. I've been doing yoga, more or less consistently for the past 5 years and it's been one of the things that has changed my life more than anything, specifically related to diet pre-primal. I went vegetarian for a while, mostly because I was convinced that non meat was healthier and, as ghandi's concept of Ahimsa (non violence) guides a lot of yogic philosophy, it seemed in tune. Also, magazine upon magazine of yoga journal was full of why it was bad to eat meat and delicious recipes that were meatless (which I've had a hard time giving up).
    I think that the Vegetarian Myth has helped me a lot in dealing with this topic, in terms of viewing the vegetarian lifestyle as not one of non-violence merely because it spares the immediate killing of animals, but I'd like to hear others insights on this issue. Mostly, are yogic philosophy and primality compatible?

Shmanks!
    Abby

Hedonist is offline Senior Member
    Mark's wife is very into yoga and manages to drag him along. Heehee. If you search, you will find lots of posts. Here's one.
    Ancestral Health Info

I design websites and blogs for a living. If you would like a blog or website designed by someone who understands Primal, see my web page.

Primal Blueprint Explorer My blog for people who are not into the Grok thing. Since starting the blog, I have moved close to being Archevore instead of Primal. But Mark's Daily Apple is still the best source of information about living an ancestral lifestyle.

Mike Gager is offline Senior Member
    i suspect the vegetarian leanings of yoga stem from its hindu origins. remove the weird religious dogma and theres really no reason why you cant eat meat and practice yoga
    Primal Chaos
    37yo 6'5"
    6-19-2011 393lbs 60" waist
    current 338lbs 49" waist