Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I No Longer Bow to the Dark Master/TDM primal journal page

TheDarkMistress is offline Senior Member

I No Longer Bow to the Dark Master/TDM primal journal

Primal Fuel
    Hello, my name is cj and I'm a reformed chocoholic (my Dark Master ). I went primal about 5 months ago.

I spent my adulthood up to now believing fully that a low-fat, low-animal-products diet was the healthy diet we should all follow for optimal health. However, every time I would re-commit to a "healthy" diet, I would only last a few days (or for one memorable vegan phase around my 40th birthday, 6 months) before no longer being able to bear the intense hunger all those carbs stimulated in me, or at I would resume eating a whole lot of processed, sweetened junk in addition to my high grains/legumes/low fat diet.

This year at my physical, my fasting blood sugar was 106. I am a physician assistant, so I knew this was not normal (*despite no comment from my doc) and looking back it has been that high at for least 1 or two years. I became determined to change my life. I don't remember exactly how I came across PB but I decided instantly to try it, because what the hell...my repeated efforts at low fat dieting were NOT WORKING. I think I started eating 70-80% primally at the very next meal.

About a year ago, I read some helpful advice on zenhabits.net to start with small changes in order to create new habits. I have used this strategy to slowly change several habits:

1. I changed from M&M's to cherries or grapes, then to one piece of dark chocolate after lunch and dinner. I'm now to the point where I can go without any dark chocolate after meals.

2. I started exercising 15 minutes 6 days a week for my New Years' resolution this year. Now I usually exercise more like 30-60 minutes 6 days a week, sometimes up to 2.5 hours if I have time. (usually walking or mountain biking a nearby wooded trail).