Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Carbs Are Essential For Weight Loss page

ChasePaleo is offline Junior Member

Carbs Are Essential For Weight Loss

Shop Now
    I started out on a VLC diet, I was eating most of my calories in fat and getting minimal exercise. I was losing weight, however, after 3 weeks of this I began to experience negative side effects. I had no energy, lack of sex drive, depression and really bad headaches. I studied it up, found that there were quite a few people like me going through the same thing on here, they called it carb flu and that it would get better. After 2 months I was STILL feeling this way, so I decided to look into carb refeeds which aren't really recommended for weight loss at my stage. As soon as I upped my carb intake, I felt fantastic! I felt like I could do anything! I didn't even really crash because I was doing quite a bit of exercise. I'm also losing weight! I believe that Grok must of had more plants/fruit available to him back then which were adequate in carbs.

Anyone else find that upping carb intake helped you with your health and weight loss? What carbs do you take? Do you prefer fruit or starch? I read that watery fruits can be great for your carb refeed days (I have 2 a week), I may try this. Currently, I'm doing sweet and white potatoes as a carb refeed.
    Last edited by ChasePaleo; 09-04-2011 at 03:15 AM.

emmie is offline Senior Member
    People are unique. Personally, I know I have to keep my carb level relatively low. Many years ago, when I first did Atkins, I calculated my "critical carb level" (point at which you stop losing) at about 20g. I lose weight only if I keep my carbs at <20g, and I maintain at about 20-30g. Again, this is just my personal situation. For me, making sure I get sufficient, high-quality protein is the key to losing.