Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Bay Area Newbie here page

sixpack-rc is offline Senior Member

Bay Area Newbie here

Hi everybody! I've been lurking for a few days but too busy to post. Here's my story:

About two months ago I started feeling really bad, like heart trouble bad. At 43 and 254 lbs (5'10) it was easy to let the imagination run wild. I went to the doctor and he said I was perfectly healthy for someone my age and weight (BP 105/68, pulse 60) And my blood work has always been good. (exception of blood sugar, which has been slowly creeping up to the top of the 'normal' range) EKG showed perfectly normal. I get a lot of activity through work. I'm considered 'healthy fat'. Nice.

So he gave me a prescription for an anti-GERD type of med and it worked. So I kept eating crap and feeling crap. And gradually the med didn't work anymore. So that scared me.

I had discovered MDA a while back and then forgot about it, but thankfully I signed up for the mailing list. After an email from Mark I came back and spent a few hours reading everything. It made sense so I gradually started to shift about three weeks ago. I started by just giving up the fries and beer. Then slowly adding more veg.

Then last Thursday (8/25) I went whole hog. My small efforts had gotten my weight down to 251.5 and since then I've lost another 9 lbs to weigh in at 242.5. Most days the scale moves 1 lb with a few 2lb days in there. My belt has moved three holes and my shirts that were belly huggers are now loose on me. The puffiness around my face has gone and my indigestion has completely disappeared. I feel like my body change is roughly equivalent to when I lost 20 lbs in the past using CW + p90X.