Thread: Leangains and Sprinting Compatibility? page

PeaceCorpsCaveMan is offline Senior Member

Leangains and Sprinting Compatibility?

Primal Fuel
    I was reading an interview of Martin Berkhan of Leangains (here: Leangains: Martin Berkhan Means It | Free The Animal ) and he seems pretty anti-HIIT. I've learned what I can from his website, although he doesn't spell out his program very clearly on his website, and I haven't read the book.

I'm looking to lose the last 5-10 pounds of fat around my mid section and lean out. Gaining muscle mass would be an incidental secondary benefit. I have been eating paleo for over 10 months, I do random IF once or twice per week, and I do a few sets of sprints every 7-10 days. I'm interested in the Leangains approach, but I'm not willing to buy the book to fill in the details. Any suggestions?

Here is the quote:

"6. If you’re dragging yourself to the gym in order to do HIIT or burpees supersetted with hindu pushups, or whatever else is trendy right now, ask yourself if you’re really doing this for conditioning purposes or fat loss. I think if most people answered honestly it would be the latter. If you’re interested in gaining strength and muscle, while losing fat, keep in mind that strenuous cardio like HIIT and other high-impact cardio will make that a whole lot harder and less likely to happen. Focus your efforts on strength training and keep cardio light. Ditch the intervals and take a 45-60 min leisurely walk instead."

yodiewan is online now Senior Member