Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My journey for health, energy and a balanced life page

My journey for health, energy and a balanced life

I am brand new to the Primal Diet, this is literally my first day. I want to journal to see how my health, energy and moods change. I learned about Mark's Daily Apple on the Spark People website. At first when I visited his blog I was a little skeptical - it just seemed a little too out there for me. For some reason I was drawn back though, I couldn't stop reading and found myself wanting to know more. I bought the book (thank god for Amazon) online and got it the next day. I spend all weeking pouring over it. At first I just read ahead to the food part to see what I could eat and was a little disappointed. I wasn't sure if my husband would go along with it. I put the book down for a day, then picked it up again yesterday and read it from the beginning almost the whole way through.

A little history, I have been dieting for a really long time. My most recent adventures in weightloss involved eliminating sugar and wheat. I had amazing results. My energy level was higher than it had ever been in my life. My moods were great. Prior to starting the no sugar diet, I went through almost a year of moderate health problems that seemed to be mostly pyschological. My doctor could not find any real problem. I was constantly hungry, my moods were erratic at best and manic at worst, I frequently felt anxious, dizzy, lethargic, and much more. I tried anti-depresants, adding more protein to my diet. Nothing worked. The no sugar diet was a god send, it was like magic. Within 2 days of eliminating sugar *and coffee* I felt like a new person. I was only able to keep this up for a couple months. My sugar addiction got the best of me around the holidays.