Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Eating without power page

Ellsass is offline Junior Member

Eating without power

Primal Fuel
    I'm new to primal. I'm also in the path of Hurricane Irene and have found myself without power (so I can't cook), lots of wind and rain (so I can't grill), and limited fridge/freezer access (don't want to put something back in lest is spoils other food).

What should I eat? I have a good supply of fruits for the moment, but that would mean too much 'sugar' and not enough protein. Any tips?

JKC
    JKC is offline Senior Member
    fruits and nuts and cheese I would say for now. You can keep cheese out for a while without it spoiling. If you had jerky that would be great too. Some veggies may be ok if they were kept out for a bit too, like carrots and celery.
    Karin

A joyful heart is good medicine

He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose. - Jim Elliot

Mmmmm. Real food is good.

My Journal: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/thread29685.html

Paleobird Guest
    How about a candlelight sushi dinner?

ElaineC is offline Senior Member
    Cook up some cuts of meat before the power goes out, along with veggies. A good thick stew will last a couple of days with minimal TLC. Ice chests can keep things cold for a remarkably long time, especially if covered with blankets or other insulators. Cook over a fire in the back yard, camp style. Get some extra propane for the BBQ, or pick up a camp stove that takes canister propane, to cook on.
    Fighting fibromyalgia and chronic myofascial pain since 2002.

Big Fat Fiasco

Our bodies crave real food. We remain hungry as long as we refuse to eat real food, no matter how much junk we stuff into our stomachs. ~J. Stanton

jsa23 is offline Senior Member
    Keeping some canned tuna/salmon/mackerel on hand is always useful for an emergency protein source. Doesn't need refrigeration or cooking, so it's good for when you're in a hurry, AND when the power goes out.