Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My elbows hurt page

beachrat is offline Senior Member

My elbows hurt

Shop Now
    I've been doing reverse pull-ups for a couple of months (start from up on the bar, and lower yourself down). Over the last couple of weeks I've noticed my elbows seeming a little sore. About a week ago it got to the point that I thought I shouldn't keep on with the reverse pull-ups.

When I started feeling it, I thought perhaps I was jumping up too much for the starting position. But I've been trying to start from a really stable position and it doesn't seem to be helping.

Anyone have some ideas? What else do I need to be thinking about? Thanks in advance.
    "If man made it, don't eat it." ..Jack LaLanne
    "It doesn't matter how beautiful your theory is, it doesn't matter how smart you are.
    If it doesn't agree with experiment, it's wrong." ..Richard Feynman

beachrat's primal journal

Jamison is offline Banned
    Possible tennis/golfers elbow?

Maybe try some eccentric arm exercises as opposed to concentric. Helps to strengthen the tendons.

Thanks - any examples? I have some 5# dumbbells or can do some bodyweight stuff. Not sure what exercises would fit into which categories, so further specifics very welcome!
    "It doesn't matter how beautiful your theory is, it doesn't matter how smart you are.

Jamison is offline Banned
    Very slow reverse curls.

Yoga helped me a lot.

Basically anything that strengthens your elbow by extending as opposed to constricting the muscle.

Also, Elbow Pain Rehab Video - Golfers Elbow - YouTube this video helped quite a bit. It shows a technique called "nerve gliding" that helped relieve the pain very well.

Thanks for the video link - I never would have thought to go to YouTube, but there were several useful diagnostic clips there too. I don't think golfer's elbow is my diagnosis, based on any of those descriptions. Perhaps it's just overuse in general.