Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Primal Blueprint Fitness - Good Choice? page

tidmutt is offline Senior Member

Primal Blueprint Fitness - Good Choice?

Shop Now
    Hi All,

This might sound like a stupid question to ask, but have many people reported good results from following the Primal Blueprint Fitness guidelines?

I've been primal for over 6 months (Paleo last year) and have lost over 60 lb so far (about 40-50lb to go) and dropped 10% body fat. I've been doing weights three times a week following a program by Tom Venuto that's a whole body workout, plenty of floor work, Plank, crunches and the rest dumbell exercises like squats, romanian deadlifts etc. I record all my progress in a workout journal and I've been doing it for about 6 months now, of and on, but on more often, especially the last few months. For some time I was also jogging or walking a few times a week. Recently I've begun to have a bit of a revelation that maybe I can take a different approach and stop tracking, wearing a heart rate monitor etc. and just have fun. I introduced sprints in the park based on PBF just this week and loved every minute of it. I wore my heart rate monitor this time just to see how it impacted my body versus jogging and weights and wow, I got the same calorie burn from 12 minutes of sprinting that I received from 30-40 minutes of jogging or weights and it was so much more fun, and the dog loved every minute of it. Next time, no heart rate monitor.

So I have been thinking about doing all of the PBF program and replacing my Tom Venuto routine, throwing away the workout journal and putting the heart rate monitor in the drawer. So my question is, has the PBF achieved good results for people? Did you mix it up with some free weights or just stuck to body weight exercises? I'm happy to do it but I've had pretty good results from my current program and don't want to mess with a good thing although it is time to mix it up a bit I think.

Thoughts?