Thread: Time for an overhaul - advice please page

CoS
    CoS is offline Senior Member

Time for an overhaul - advice please

Primal Fuel
    I've been doing Insanity and P90x for 14 months and I'm ready for change. It lost me 110 lbs, but I'm ready to go more primal in my workouts. I've been sprinting once a week for the past month, doing less direct ab work, and actually taking rest days, but I'm ready to ditch the DVDs (until P90X2 comes out, anyway) and make my out routines. Below are my goals and my schedule I created. Then some concerns I have.

Goals:
    I'm 200 lbs, 21 years old, male, 5'11. I got down from 310 lbs on June 12 with DVDs and CW diet. I went primal in mid-late June. I had been counting calories, but this week I stopped that practice. I know to get 4-8 oz protein at each meal, endless veggies, a little fruit, and make up the rest with fat. I'm eating according to how I feel, and its working for me so far. I just recently went dairy-free, watching the sodium, less coffee and more tea, and my only cheat is the occasional piece of chocolate (try to get dark). My ultimate goal is to get down to 180. I still have a bit of a gut, although I look athletic. I'm upset with my current routine (P90X with a little Rushfit and sprinting thrown in) because I feel like my extremities are being toned but I'm not really "torching" fat. My gut and love handles are slow to leave, as well as my inner thighs and lower back fat. Below is what I've constructed to address my frustrations. 2 days of large-muscle-group exercises (upper and lower), 1 day of heavy isolation work (upper), 3 days abs/core, 1 day cardio/plyo, 1 day sprinting, 1 day rest, 1 day yoga/ROM. It may seem like a lot still, but compared to P90X I think I've condensed my workout time. I'd really appreciate some input.

Lift heavy
    A:
    Squat 5x5
    Push-up 5xmax (regular, wide, military, staggered hand, decline)
    Pull-up 5xmax (regular twice, wide, close grip overhand, reverse grip)