Thread: Standing at work, thoughts... page

iniQuity is offline Senior Member

Standing at work, thoughts...

Primal Fuel
    Hi all.

I've been standing up at work for the past two months. I am lucky enough to now work at a place that allows it (even offered to actually buy me a desk, but I told them my boxes were just fine) they also don't mind that I am barefoot in the office. It's a dress-down place, and they only really care that you do your job, refreshing right?

Anyway, for the first month or so I stood up basically all day except whenever I ate at my desk. Lately though, I've been sitting for the second half of the day most often than not. I'll stand until 1 or 2pm, sit down to eat and remain seated until around 5-6pm when I leave. I make it a point to stand until my fast-breaking meal though.

My feet are well adjusted and don't really hurt or get sore, I don't stand on a mat or anything of the sort. I'm also not a stranger to standing for work as I've been a waiter and bartender previously, but for the last year I sat at a desk and stopped working as a server, etc. Essentially reducing my standing/walking time to almost nothing.

I get the desire to not want to sit all the time, and all the issues that sitting brings, but I'm beginning to wonder, is standing on one place necessarily better? Surely it's a better position, your veins aren't pressured, your butt muscles don't stretch constantly like they are when sitting, your hip flexors don't shorten, etc, but wouldn't moving around be a better option to standing?