Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Carbs and Brain Health page

Johngarnet is offline Junior Member

Carbs and Brain Health

Primal Fuel
    I just read an article from Digestive Health arguing that proper brain function requires at least 130 grams of carbs per day-as an absolute minimum-I have never seen this "fact?" before-comments?????

Wander is offline Junior Member
    I can't comment from a medical point of view but I have been eating 10-40 carbs a day for the past three months and I'm still functioning...

Einz is offline Member
    I'd believe it, anything under 100 is probably dangerous for most people. Just make sure you are eating the good carbs - Fruits, Veggies (potatoes), those kind of things. Do not listen to the low carb freaks around here... It is just not healthy.

alevin is offline Junior Member
    My brain feels BETTER after a couple of weeks of low-carbin' it. It feels like a fog has lifted. Keep in mind your brain can happily use ketones for fuel, but if your body isn't used to low carb it does take time for your body to adjust. There is no way Grok got 130 g carbs consistently every day, that's part of why our metabolic processes are so complex. If you're already lean and your metabolism is strong, 130 falls within the maintenance range, but idk.

profdjj is offline Senior Member
    Your body easily converts protein in to carbs as needed. Don't listen to the "high-carb" freaks.

kiss is offline Senior Member
    The following comes from Dr. Eades blog if you're interested in the whole fat and protein converted in the liver to glucose thing:
    The Blog of Michael R. Eades, M.D. Ľ Metabolism and ketosis