Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Not Losing - Stalled Weight Loss page

Metro is offline Junior Member

Not Losing - Stalled Weight Loss

Primal Fuel
    I am wondering if anyone has any suggestions for me. I am new to the Primal way of eating but not new to low carb.

Just for a quick history: I did Atkins about 2 years ago and lost about 35 pounds. Once I started eating a few carbs I ended up back at my old way of eating. I did not gain the weight back but I am finding it challanging to lose right now. Maybe I need to be patient.

I started about 3 1/2 weeks ago on Atkins. I only lost the 5 pounds of carb "loading" I did before I started. I then switched to South Beach in 1 1/2 weeks because the high fat of cream in my coffee really made me "not feel well" in the mornings and I just was not feeling real well (could have been from those Atkins franken-bars). South Beach requires low fat dairy. Also I really like fruit and nuts. I lost 5 pounds the first week I switched over. I limited my nuts and my fruit. But really I have been on the Primal diet for the most part. I seem to have stayed at my current weight for 2 weeks now. I am excercising more. I have over done my servings on the nuts because I am hungry - it seems - often. I have determined that I need to eat a regular full lunch to avoid the hunger and snacking all afternoon. I am getting some fat - butter to sautee my eggs, avocado, occasional olive oil in salad dressing, Omega-3 supplement - so I don't think that is it.

I do eat some dairy (string cheese) and about a cup of 1% milk everyday with my (necessary) 3 cups of coffee. I guess I am about 80% or more Primal. I really don't want to give up dairy and my "fattening" nuts.

I DO feel better but it seems my weight loss is stagnant right now. I was also counting my calories to make sure I am not going over a weight loss calorie level (calories per day = 10x my weight).