Thread: Nuking the last 10 Pounds Primal-style page

MetalBeth is offline Member

Nuking the last 10 Pounds Primal-style

Can't promise that this journal will be especially edifying to anyone but me, but I'm at a point where it's getting crucial to start noting details and fine-tuning my lifestyle. High granularity, if you please. Yes, I work in IT.

I have been following a Primal-like plan since late Feb '11, when I weighed 198. The "ah-ha!" moment for me was threefold:
    1) My SIL tagged pictures of me at her baby shower. I had no idea that my appearance had morphed into that of a sickly heifer. Even with the double chin, my head looked small compared to my body. The sallow skin and dark circles under my eyes didn't help, either.
    2) I picked up Why We Get Fat and devour- uh, read it in two days flat.
    3) I somehow found MDA and the Carbohydrate Curve, and used that for my starting guide.

Overnight, I began thinking of insulin as a sleeping monster inside of me. Consume too many carbs in one sitting and the monster wakes and starts stuffing my fat cells. The idea was not to wake the monster. I cut out grains, added sugars, microwave dinners, alcohol, and even fruits. At first I didn't exercise much, but when the weather got nice I began taking walks outside at work. Then I added in Turbo Fire DVDs 2x/week. In early July I started doing 12-20 min Bodyrock.tv workouts every other day.