Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Starting out and looking for some advice on how to reach my goals. page

h4890 is offline Junior Member

Question Starting out and looking for some advice on how to reach my goals.

Shop Now
    Hello everyone,

I'm just starting out and I wonder if you could give me a bit of help and some advice on how to reach my goals (defined below)?

I know nothing about training, and come from a "culture" that is very negative towards training (IT) and therefore I'm just taking my first stumbling steps.

First of all, let me tell you a bit about myself. I'm 29, 5 ft 10 inch, weighing ca 123 pounds, and my athletic activities stopped right before college.

To be honest, I seem to be blessed with good genes, since I can eat anything and not gain weight, but this also works the other way around, since I can train a lot (well at least before college) and not gain any weight as well.

However, I now suspect that this special circumstance will not last for the rest of my life (getting closer to my 30 year crisis for sure... =( ), so I'm thinking about trying to train again in a proactive way, and not wait until the years and my diet habits force me to train. Also I do not eat any paleo food, except that by pure chance I have always disliked potatoes and vegetables and focused more on meat. But I still eat cereals and pasta though.

My overall goals are:

1. To remain fit and active.
    2. To gain 14 pounds of muscle, since I think I am a bit skinny.
    3. Over the long term, to learn the more advanced exercises below.
    4. 6 pack. Not so much for me walking around naked, more because it is some kind of visible progress, and it seems like many people find it difficult and I like a challenge.

So what do you think about my current program which I do 2 times per week since 3 weeks?

30 x Hindu pushups
    25 x Bicycle crunches
    2 min plank, front + side
    70 squats