Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tempted to Abandon Fasted Workouts page

Leida is offline Senior Member

Tempted to Abandon Fasted Workouts

LG overall worked great for me, and it took a long time to learn to lift fasted, but part of me just wants to see if I will be able to lift more if I eat before the workouts... Will eating on the 3 lifting days screw up with the hunger control the LG gives on the other 4 days of the week? Does eating before-hand really makes any difference?
    My Journal: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/thread57916.html
    When I let go of what I am, I become what I might be.

pyro13g is offline Senior Member
    Heavier weights or for longer duration?

yodiewan is offline Senior Member
    I've wonderd this myself as I've been lifting fasted for several months now (maybe a year?). I don't think you have to ditch LG to do this. One of Martin's protocols (I think it's actually the one he recommends to people with flexible schedules so maybe the one he considers most ideal) has a small pre-workout meal: The Leangains Guide | Intermittent fasting diet for fat loss, muscle gain and health

I think fasted training is maybe more targeted for fat loss, though I think you could lose or gain weight with any of the protocols depending on your overall food intake.

Give it a shot and let us know how it goes!
    Last edited by yodiewan; 08-16-2011 at 09:53 AM.

Unfortunately, I can't do flexible schedules A big dinner is a must for me, or I wake up early, starved, and I have to lift 1st thing in the morning to have an access to the equipment & have my life on rails! My weekend workout that is 1.5 hour later than the weekday (gym opens later) is weaker imo (longer fast?)