Thread: Sardine Omega 3 Question page

PeaceCorpsCaveMan is offline Senior Member

Sardine Omega 3 Question

Shop Now
    I have been doing paleo/primal nutrition for over 9 months now. I am at the stage of tinkering with the details for optimum health. I have been looking into my omega 3/6 ratio in the context of the foods which are available to me with limited access to quality foods. I eat a high-fat diet with the majority of my calories coming from lard, eggs, pork, beef, chicken, and ofal produced from the lowest-cost farming methods available, so I assume they are relatively high in omega 6's, antibiotics, etc. I started taking about 3 grams of fish body oil from a bottle I bought at GNC in the city. The supplements are very expensive on my income, so I try to eat as many vegetable and animal sources of omega 3's as possible. I thought I was doing the right thing by eating a small can of sardines about once a week fried with some eggs and then I saw this web page hosted by Tufts University:

http://ocw.tufts.edu/data/47/531409.pdf

My question relates to the importance of volume of omega 3's relative to the ratio of 3/6. Is it beneficial for me to consume more total omega 3's even if that means worsening my ratio? Or is the ratio truly the key and I should avoid eating sardines, canned tuna in oil, and olive oil which are available but have a bad ratio?

I have access to a fish market about once a week. They have dried shrimp, a variety of dried fish, fresh sea caught, and farmed fish. Are there certain types of fish or seafood I can look out for? Is there possibly some other significant source of omega 3 I could add to my diet? Is the fact that I eat a high-fat diet from poor quality animals that big of a deal? Mark suggests there wouldn't be a problem with high animal fat diets if it wasn't for poor farming practices.
    Last edited by PeaceCorpsCaveMan; 08-15-2011 at 10:08 PM.

shagcarpet is offline Junior Member