Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Mexican Primal? page

MaLink is offline Member

Mexican Primal?

Shop Now
    This morning I thought to myself that I'd pull out the green chile enchilada sauce and make some primal, non-tortilla chicken enchiladas. Then I looked at the ingredients on the can: Corn syrup solids, soybean oil, modified food starch, hydrolyzed corn protein, etc... I don't even full understand what being primal means since I'm only a week into the 30 day challenge but holy crap, none of that sounded primal at all.

I'm saddened because that was my favorite enchilada sauce. Now I'm worried there aren't any mexican-esque recipes that are primal because masa is such a big part of the culture. Prove me wrong? ;_;
    Doing the Primal 30 Day Challenge since August 8th, 2011!

jomama is offline Junior Member
    i am new to eating primal too... although i did atkiins back in the day... i would think carne asada would be a good primal mexican dish... fish tacos... without the taco shell... put it on romaine lettuce... mexican shrimp cocktail... or fajitas would be good too.. i am a novice so these may be way off base...

liminal_luke is offline Member

Mexican can be primal too!

Primal Mexican foods...

Salsas you make yourself the easiest being perhaps pico de gallo: just cut up tomato, onion, serrano chile, and cilantro. Douse with lime and season with salt. I like to add cucumber to mine.

Guacamole...mash avocado with whatever: cilantro, tomato, chile, onion

Mexican style eggs dishes--huevos con jamon (ham), huevos con tocino (bacon), con chorizo, a la mexicana (with cooked serrano chile, tomato, and onion)

Mexican seafood...shrimp, fillet of fish, or octopus cooked in any of the standard styles--a la mantaquila (in butter), al mojo de ajo (garlicy), a la diabla (with hot chile)

And it goes on and on...chicken or pork tinga, carne asada, chicarron (pork rinds!), cactus salad. The cookbooks of Diane Kennedy might give you some authentic inspiration.