Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What's your take on anxiety medications? page

jqbancroft is offline Senior Member

What's your take on anxiety medications?

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Over the past year, I've gotten nauseous a LOT, and thrown up way more than usual, even though I was eating primal. In fact, deviating from primal seemed to make no difference. I've discovered that I'm pretty sure this is stress/anxiety related. As I head into my last year as a graduate student, I can feel my symptoms coming back that were absent during the summer. The stomach aches, feeling overwhelmed and agitated, makes my thoughts of the fall semester so dismal I've decided to seek professional help with the possibility of taking medication.

However, I'm a little intimidated because I've never had to go on any serious meds before and I'm not sure how they will react with my body or what side effects I need to watch out for. Anyone here have advice/information/resources about these kinds of medication? I don't want to walk into the Dr.'s office clueless.

Apex Predator is offline Senior Member
    They can be a lifesaver, but it's not a decision to make lightly. Getting off of them can be brutal, and the side effects are no joke. That being said, anxiety can make life seem not worth living.

A close friend of mine went off of hers as soon as she built up her emotional supports, because it killed her feelings and sex life.

JKC
    JKC is offline Senior Member
    I would agree that there is a place for anxiety and depression meds, but that there are a lot of nonmedical things you can do to deal with your anxiety. People meditate, rely on social supports, get therapy and some use acupuncture or other non traditional approaches. I would think it would make sense to see if some of these other methods might help you before going to drugs.