Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Dry dog food - FYI page

AuH2Ogirl is offline Senior Member

Shop Now

For those of you not feeding your dog raw food, I've been feeding my dog Orijen for a couple of years. I thought I might feed him something else, but I looked at all of the grain-free dry foods and they all have large doses of vegetable oil, some even being the second ingredient in the list, EXCEPT Orijen. It has no vegetable oil, and is grain-free, and meat (not meal or whatever) is always the first ingredient.

It's pretty pricey, but he's done well on it, and it's not any more expensive than most of the other grain-free foods.

TexTodd Guest

Thank you. Im researching this now as well.

Acmebike is offline Member

Not as easy to serve up to your beasts, but check out Slanker's Meats for their pet food:

http://www.texasgrassfedbeef.com/

Keeps in the fridge, can be served cooked or raw, pretty simple and likely how our animals should be eating. And you can mix a bit of the high organ meat mix into your own nutrition as well.

chocolatechip69 is offline Junior Member

Great tip, AuH2Ogirl. Thank you!

I'm currently feeding my dog Canidae Grain Free, but as you said, they use vegetable oil and even barley.

I will look into this brand. Does your dog enjoy it?

onelasttime Guest

Looks like an interesting source but this goes against what I have researched for feed a raw dog:

"Edible dog bones are a treat that should not be a daily event. Dogs ate a limited quantity of bone in the wild and too much bone in their gut is not recommended."

Many people who feed dogs a prey model - no vegetables or supplements - try to feed all animal parts such as a whole rabbit or simulated through meat, offal and edible bones.