Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Holy smokes! Cooking for idiots? page

tutti is offline Member

Holy smokes! Cooking for idiots?

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    I was wondering if you guys have any resources for the complete novice cook. I'm coming across great recipes here and elsewhere, but they usually don't break it down into as much detail as I need. Until now, the most cooking I've really done is maybe... grilled cheese, or pressing start on the microwave.

I tried to make something simple tonight... I took some coconut oil, put my stove on medium heat (it's a gas stove), and used an aluminum pan I have. I put in the boneless/skinless chicken breasts I bought, and my entire apartment was filled with smoke in seconds, and I got some oil spit burns to boot! Is this something unique to coconut oil?

...I'm supposed to be making some scrambled eggs tomorrow morning... better start reading up!

Grokarella is offline Member
    Hi tutti! It sounds like the oil was too hot. I would try it at a lower temperature I really enjoy cooking, but since I had been a vegetarian for so long, I'm a total meat cooking novice!

Scrambled eggs are much easier Use a low heat, good scrambled eggs take time! This is a great scrambled egg recipe, if you do dairy (I don't add the cheese, but I do add the sour cream): The Lady's Perfect Scrambled Eggs Recipe : Paula Deen : Food Network. It doesn't say how long to cook the eggs, but it normally takes me up to 10 minutes.
    Jennifer, 28 years old
    Vegetarian for 13 years, primal since July 2011
    Weight lost on primal: 34.2 lbs

jqbancroft is offline Senior Member
    One thing that might help is to look up videos on youtube about foods you'd like to create. This way, you can see each step and hear warnings about common mistakes. One video I follow for making the best, creamiest scrambled eggs I've ever had is this one: ‪Perfect Scrambled Eggs Breakfast‬‏ - YouTube