Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Seeking advice about IF page

skunkcabbagebandit is offline Junior Member

Seeking advice about IF

Shop Now
    I am just beginning my primal jourey. Just a few weeks in. I am finding it very easy and I don't really have to think about food. Shopping is easy too. Produce section, meat section, spices. Done! I am eating very little fruit and getting most of my carbs from non-starch vegetables.

I decided that also, this time I am not focusing on weight loss but rather expect that to come from being healthy. I am walking every day and enjoying it. I am also weight training. I am making my focus on getting strong and I'm lifting as heavily as I can within 6-8 reps. Each time I get stinger I will add a bit more weight. I am really enjoying it.

Being that I am also enjoying hunger control, I would like to try Intermittent Fasting. I plan on eating within a 10 hour window and getting all that I need. I like the idea becasue it will allow me to be a bit of a hedonist so long as my choices are primal friendly. I also like that I would be able to eat in the evening when I naturally feel like it anyway. I've never been a big early morning eater. I would like to fast until noon each day.

I find however, that I prefer to train in the morning before my kids wake up and after a nice walk and stretch to wake up my muscles. I have also read that the best time to eat is right AFTER a training session. This would require me to break my fast earlier. Or would it? Could I continue the fast and still gain muscle and recover well or would it be best to eat? Also, I am wondering if one can IF indefinately or only for periods after which they must continue to eat as usual. I am currently 151 lbs down from 156 lbs. I am 28. Female.

I am completely new to weight training, IF and Primal. Thanks for reading.

Mike Gager is offline Senior Member