Thread: Sugar and Depression? page

Jaden is offline Junior Member

Unhappy Sugar and Depression?

Primal Fuel
    I'm new at this, and in my first week of Primal. I was feeling wonderful, but caved to carb cravings on my sixth day (yesterday). I didn't just eat healthy carbs, though. I indugled in sugary snacks (that are in the house for other members of the family) and rice krispies.

I had the satisfaction of seeing that this food was unfulfilling, and didn't taste anywhere near as good as the Primal foods I'd been eating.

I also noticed something else: my stable mood began to flounder and fluctuate. I nearly broke down in tears, not knowing why. Instead of waiting around for things to get worse, I just laid down for a little while. Today, I feel my old depression pulling me down with force. It's barely 9am, and I've already been close to tears twice.

Has anyone else suffered depression after consuming sugar?

JKC
    JKC is offline Senior Member
    There is some research that indicates that having a very low carb diet is helpful in dealing with depression. I recently read the Perfect Health Diet, and they cited studies that showed it was useful for schizophrenia, epilepsy, depression and migraines. I also can tend to depression (and migraines), and have found that having a lower carb diet works best for me - usually between 50 and 100g carb a day.
    Karin

A joyful heart is good medicine

He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain what he cannot lose. - Jim Elliot

Mmmmm. Real food is good.

My Journal: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/thread29685.html

Griff is offline Senior Member
    Oh, yeah. Bigtime.
    Primal eating in a nutshell: If you are hungry, eat Primal food until you are satisfied (not stuffed). Then stop. Wait until you're hungry again. Repeat.

Looking for my Cholesterol Primer? Here it is: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum...mer-(Attempt-2)

Ditch the scale!: http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/thread33283.html