Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Best Bang for My Buck Excerises page

rmshill is offline Junior Member

Best Bang for My Buck Excerises

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Can anyone recommend a few weight training exercises I could do at home with minimal equipment (i.e. free weights or kettleballs) that would work most major muscle groups. I was hoping to find a routine that I could do while the kids napped that would for the most part tone me up a bit.

Thanks, I am a novice at this.

js290 is offline Senior Member

ErikaE is offline Member
    I have a few things that, so far at least, give me a good variety of strength training without having to go to the gym or spend a ton of money. The first is an upper body IronGym thing that slides onto a regular doorway with molding. I do pullups (well, hangs -- still can't do a full pullup yet) on that. I also bought a kettlebell that I use for swings and squats (my arms are not yet strong enough to lift 45 lbs in ways the other kettlebell exercises do, but I'm getting there).

I also have a set of free weights (8lb each, I wish they were more like 12-15lb but I've had them for years, maybe later I'll upgrade) that I use to work out my arms, and an extra thick yoga mat that I use for easy yoga poses, and also pistol squats, jump squats, crunches, pushups (the IronGym thing can also go on the floor to help with those last two if you like). The last thing I use is a "fitness ball". I originally got it as a desk chair alternative, which I still use it for, but I've found a few ab exercises that you can do with it via YouTube and I have to say they kick my ass in the best way possible, in a way that crunches cannot hold a candle to.

All this stuff I got from either Amazon or Target, every item was under $40, so you could mix and match those ideas to fit your needs.
    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~