Thread: Any Butter Makers Out There? page

ozbuckley is offline Senior Member

Any Butter Makers Out There?

Shop Now
    Hey Guys,

Ive been making my own butter for a couple of months now. I use Marks guidelines on how to make butter and I get majority of the butter milk out of the butter but there still seems to be some moisture remaining in the butter.

I find store bought butter seems to have absolutely no moisture at all... Im wondering how they achieve this... or even better, how can I achieve this at home?

The butter is amazing so far, but Id like to get that little bit of moisture out of it.

Hope to hear from you soon,

Oz

oliviascotland is online now Senior Member
    I make fermented butter for my husband and myselft (the rest of the family hate it!) and find the moisture difficult to get out, too. However, I rinse it until there are no more signs of buttermilk, then put it in the fridge for about 30 minutes before draining it and squeezing out the water, then patting it dry with kitchen paper, and repeating the process until it's as dry as I can get it. Then I divide into 8oz portions, wrap it in greaseproof paper, and freeze it! Seems to work quite well.

ozbuckley is offline Senior Member
    Ok thanks. Ill try that.

I squeeze all of the buttermilk out too with ice cold water and a fork (ala marks directions), so it just seems theres a little moisture still left in there. Its really not a big issue for me but I just wonder how professional butter makers seem to be able to get all that moisture out.

Misabi is offline Senior Member
    Not yet, but I've just found a source of raw dairy and I'm picking up my first couple of litres tomorrow.
    Planning to try butter and yoghurt first, as I don't really drink milk to often and don't have any frosties to drown in lashings of the cold white stuff anymore

yodiewan is online now Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by ozbuckley View Post