Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New food discoveries page

jc2bg Guest

Primal Fuel

I'm a relative newbie and not all that informed, but thought I'd share some recent food discoveries in a more or less primal vein. Feel free to chime in with your own experiences, comments, etc.

Almond flour: there are a lot of online recipes using almond flour for a host of tasty things. After a month or so of virtually no baked goods other than some primal banana-nut bars, I thought it might help me to stay [more] primal in the long run if I baked something in the muffin line, so I found a reasonably affordable online source for almond flour, tried a simple muffin recipe, and found the results quite tasty and surprisingly filling. I want to try to buy in slightly larger bulk [than 1 lb. at a time] so I'll always have some on hand.

Agave: Readily available in my local supermarket, and not cost-prohibitive. I do well now on staying away from true SAD sweets, but I can't stand coffee or tea (which I must have) without sweetening. Agave does the trick very nicely, and at least is more natural than Nutraweet, Splenda, etc. (or seems so). Also does very nicely in primal baked goods. A little goes a long way.

Almond butter: Like the Agave and almond flour, almond butter is a very nice combination of slightly sweet and adds that extra zing to various baked items, plus it's versatile as a "dip," condiment, filler in smoothies, or just on a spoon as a snack. Can't find it locally in supermarkets, but readily available online, and I don't use much.