Thread: What to eat the morning of a triathlon? page

zandy is offline Junior Member

What to eat the morning of a triathlon?

Primal Fuel
    Hi there, newbie here.
    I've been following the PB for 2+ months now, and loving it. My question is about fueling for a sprint triathlon.
    Last summer I did my first triathlon (and my second, 'cause I liked it so much). I don't consider myself an athlete by any means, I just wanted to see if I could do it.
    Anyway, the morning of, I would eat 1/2 a peanut butter and nutella sandwich on whole wheat bread, and 1/2 a banana. On the bike portion I would drink a bottle of 1/2 gatorade and 1/2 water. When I got back, before the run, I would drink more of that, plus a couple Clif Shot Blocks (and a couple more of those while on the run).
    So obviously I need a new fuel routine, but what? I still feel like I want some carbs during the tri itself; maybe a 1/2 Recharge (which is made from fruit juice), 1/2 water mix? And what to eat for breakfast? Normally I don't eat anything before about 10:30, including on days I exercise in the morning, but I don't want to do a triathlon on no fuel at all!
    Any help is appreciated, thanks.

Hedonist is offline Senior Member
    If what you have been eating and drinking works, I would say to stay close to it. It's not like you are doing it every day. Maybe pb on sourdough or sprouted grain bread if they don't give you problems. The important thing is to experiment before the event to see what works. Don't try to be 100% primal. If you can fine. If not, don't sweat it.
    Ancestral Health Info

I design websites and blogs for a living. If you would like a blog or website designed by someone who understands Primal, see my web page.