Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Can anyone recommend a good brand of protein powder page

innadoom is offline Member

Can anyone recommend a good brand of protein powder

Shop Now
    I'm new to protein powders. I'm looking for whey protein with minimal added crap, no artificial sweeteners, and low sugar (obviously). I heard that quality varies between brands and an equal amount of protein between two different brands might not be an equal amount of protein that you'll get out of one of them. Any recs?

davem is offline Senior Member
    Something I noticed is that you'll get major differences between flavor, quality, and ability to dissolve even within the same product line of the manufacturer. Why use it? The stuff is expensive and well.... meh. Better if you EAT your protein.

On's Whey, Gold Voodoo Hoodoo in chocolate - the cadillac of fakefood. (Good with strawberries in it.)
    My Fitday public journal.
    Me vs. Russian Boar, hunt is on Aug. 20th. WHAT'S MORE PRIMAL THAN THAT?!
    Recently survived Warrior Dash, New England.
    Game Developer, ex-Chef, long time Fatbody.

barryman9000 is offline Senior Member
    I always advocate real food over anything processed, and the more I read the more I think whey protein is a waste of money. I haven't read anything that makes me think it's harmful - I just don't think there are any real benefits.

That being said... you can get some inexpensive whey isolate with or without added "stuff" from TrueProtein.com. I suggest you give it a try and decide for yourself.

tfarny is offline Senior Member
    NOW brands pure whey isolate is a popular choice - cheap in bulk on Amazon.
    If you are new to the PB - please ignore ALL of this stuff, until you've read the book, or at least http://www.marksdailyapple.com/primal-blueprint-101/ and this (personal fave): http://www.archevore.com/get-started/

ChocoTaco369 is online now Senior Member
    I love this stuff.