Thread: Obesity and Energy Balance: is the tail wagging the dpg page

Sue
    Sue is offline Senior Member

Obesity and Energy Balance: is the tail wagging the dpg

Shop Now
    Dog - not Dpg

Interesting article DFH brought attention to:

DFH:
    "Here's a good article that explains how researchers are working on replacing calorie theory with the insulin hypothesis-"

http://www.scribd.com/doc/61236146/O...agging-the-Dog
    Last edited by Sue; 07-30-2011 at 07:57 PM.

Hedonist is offline Senior Member
    Thanks Sue
    Ancestral Health Info

I design websites and blogs for a living. If you would like a blog or website designed by someone who understands Primal, see my web page.

Primal Blueprint Explorer My blog for people who are not into the Grok thing. Since starting the blog, I have moved close to being Archevore instead of Primal. But Mark's Daily Apple is still the best source of information about living an ancestral lifestyle.

Sue
    This was interesting about gut flora:
    "Individuals may differ in their capacity to extract energy from a given dietary intake. Two bacterial colonisers of the human gut, the bacteriodetes and the firmicutes, differ in their metabolic efficiency in that individuals with a higher proportion of firmicutes have an enhanced capacity to harvest dietary energy and hence gain weight more readily."

As Dr B Walsh said you are not what you eat but what you eat, digest and absorb (something like that).
    Still reading the above study in-between breakfast, organising the kids, house work etc.

Sue
    Quote Originally Posted by Hedonist View Post
    Thanks Sue
    No worries. Hopefully we get a bit of discussion going.

Captain Archer is offline Senior Member
    So basically we are not what we eat but what we absorb and how we digest?
    Is that the jist of this?
    I think that's why for most of us we work better on the low carbohydrate lifestyle presented through primal.