Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Weight Training, PB style, w/ no weights? page

FairyRae2 Guest

I want to start this by saying I've got very little experience w/ fitness/exercise stuff. I LOVE yoga (the only exercise I've ever loved besides horsebackriding), and practice pretty intense vinyasa flow/'power' yoga regularly. But it really feels to me like the low intensity exercise Mark talks about in the PB book--not like the weekly high intensity weight training and sprint stuff...

So, I'm interested in doing some high intensity 'weight training', and looking for ideas. I'd LOVE to do this by just using my own body weight but am not sure if that's possible/an option...? (I've read about burpees here--not sure if they count as weight training??) But really, any ideas you all have are welcome! I'd love whatever I do to be able to be done in my (small) home, with what I've got here (which is regular home stuff, no work out equiptment or weights etc...not sure that's possible...)

Any thoughts/ideas are welcome!!! And details and links etc.--I really know nothing about any of this... And sorry if I've screwed up the terminolgy, I'm SOOOO a 'fitness' newbie!

TIA!!

Lovestoclimb is offline Senior Member

You can achieve some really amazing results with body weight training.

Hit up youtube and check out Turbulence Training or Craig Ballantyne.

I grok, therefore I am.

BarbeyGirl is offline Senior Member

TOTALLY possible! You know that "Women of Crossfit" post from a couple days ago?

I look like that.

And I did most of it with body weight and a couple lousy 12-pound dumbbells, plus a healthy dose of creativity.

Pushups. Do as many standard pushups as you can, even if it's only a few. Then do "girly style" to max out. You'll get there. I started at 6 standard in March and can now do 35 incline (feet up on an 18-inch platform) -- multiple sets.