Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Animal fat vs other fat page

nickh is offline Junior Member

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification

G'day folks. Ever since learning about coconut oil, I've been using it liberally in much of my cooking. It provides me with a large portion of my daily saturated fat. In an average day, I cook with 2 to 3 tbsp of coconut oil, and 0.25 to 0.5 of a can of coconut milk.

However, my interpretation of some articles that I've read is that animal fat is the best source of saturated fat.

Should one curb/minimize the amount of saturated fat obtained from coconut, and focus more on saturated fat obtained from animal fat?

Thanks!

Nick

kuno1chi is offline Senior Member

Nick,

I'm not an expert by any means. But I think the general consensus is: if you're eating grass-fed or pastured animals, then their fat is best. If eating CAFO animals---then go for as lean as possible, and supplemnt with good fats like CO.

How'd I do, guys and gals???

SerialSinner is offline Senior Member

I second Kuno.

I personally believe that "not all saturated fats are created equal".

Saturated fats are, by definition, made up of fatty acids with very few or no double bonds (the more multiple bonds in the molecular structure of a fatty acid, the more it can be "saturated with other atoms, hence the more "unsaturated" it becomes).

My point is that the term "saturated fats" refers to a fat which content of fatty acids tends to be saturated. But there are many types of saturated fatty acids.

Lard and Coconut Oil are both saturated fats but are made up of different types of saturated fatty acids.

I believe Grok did not evolve to thrive on coconuts, but to thrive on animal fat.

My personal take is that animal fats are better than saturated vegetable fats. The lack of animal saturated fatty acids or presence of vegetable ones could be linked to unidentified health problems.