Thread: kidney damage page

FitChutney is offline Junior Member

Unhappy kidney damage

Shop Now
    Hi

I'm new to the paleo diet and would like to get an opinion on the dangers of a high protein intake and kidney damage. I understand ketosis may cause the body to form dangerous compounds known as ketones, which can cause organs, specifically kidneys, to fail. Ketosis is believed to be avoided by consuming a minimum of 100 grams of carbohydrates per day. Dosen't the paleo diet limit carb intake?

Should I be worried? to less than 50 grams per day.

Thanks!
    BEng(Hons), MSc, MBA (ex)Ironman triathlete
    :: visit my paleo blog of awesomeness
    :: download my totally free 80 page eBook introduction to paleo living
    :: follow me on Twitter @fit_chutney

DFH
    DFH is offline Senior Member
    The Blog of Michael R. Eades, M.D. Metabolism and ketosis

The other response to the Atkins diet has been to say it was unhealthy.

Yeah, there're two factors. The Atkins diet, because it's very low in carbohydrates, it can be ketogenic. That's why your body, in effect, stops running on glucose, on blood sugar, and starts running on fat, and the fat's broken down into these ketone bodies. Ketosis is a mild version of diabetic ketoacidosis, which is the state that occurs in uncontrolled diabetes, and it's fatal.

This whole medical society grew up basically thinking ketosis is bad, ketoacidosis is bad, and therefore ketosis in these diets is bad and you should do anything you can to avoid these ketogenic diets. In fact, many of the compromise diets from the 1930s through the 1990s were diets that cut back carbohydrates to just the level above which you won't have ketosis.