Page 1 of 15 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: I had a heart attack two years ago, trying to make sense of chol #'s page

berger6696 is offline Member

I had a heart attack two years ago, trying to make sense of chol #'s

Primal Fuel
    Hi. I'm (almost) 36 and at 34 (on my birthday) I had a heart attack. I thought I ate well (lowfat, no soda, twinkies, chips or cheeseburgers), was in good physical condition (5'9" 155lbs), and regularly lifted weights. I'm an accountant so I sit on my ass all day.

I've just gone through my lipid tests to try to make sense of the numbers and am looking for a little direction. Here's what I have:

7/30/2007 test for life insurance:
    total chol 194
    LDL 99
    HDL 28
    Triglycerides 355
    VLDL 67

8/31/2009 heart attack
    total chol 115
    LDL 74
    HDL 16
    Triglycerides 126
    VLDL 25

*politely declined statins with the hopes of "eating better" and "exercising more" to better align chol #'s.

11/06/2009 checkup with cardiologist
    total chol 166
    LDL 99
    HDL 29
    Triglycerides 190
    VLDL 38
    *started jogging in addition to easing back into weight lifting. 2/1/10 started P90X. Did this daily for 10 weeks. Continued to do P90X about 4-5x/week.

04/09/2010 checkup
    total chol 163
    LDL 104
    HDL 29
    Triglycerides 148
    VLDL 30
    *Guilted into starting statins. Still doing P90X 4-5x/week.

07/19/2010 checkup
    total chol 138
    LDL 64
    HDL 33
    Triglycerides 203
    VLDL 41
    *Still not seeing the magic HDL #40 so I started Insanity (intense cardio program) around the first of the year.

03/21/2011 Healthfair
    total chol 122
    LDL 69
    HDL 31
    Triglycerides 111
    VLDL 22