Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Might temporarily go back to vegan page

jimtoo is offline Junior Member

Might temporarily go back to vegan

Primal Fuel
    I've been eating primal for about 4 months now, and am not doing well. I'm lost on what to do. I've got chest pains (started before going primal, with two different holistic docs telling me I've got clogged arteries), and they're not going away. Long ago I tried to be a vegan raw foodist and was never very good at it, but whenever I did a 30 day raw foods detox I'd feel great afterwards. But the deprivation did me in and eventually I'd start eating crap, gave up on raw foods, and gained about 40 pounds. On primal, I've lost about 20 of those pounds, but still feel like hell. I can't even exercise anymore - can't even take a walk - as it leads to GERD symptoms and chest pain issues, and I'm only 20 or 30 pounds overweight. The best I've felt in the last ten years has only been after doing a vegan detox. I'm wondering if raw vegan is the way to go for the short term, to get over some health issues, then maybe try slowly getting back into primal at some point. I know there are many who have had lots of health issues arise from being a long-term vegan, but maybe it would be good for short-term healing.

I read this today, too, which isn't helping me to stay primal (it's from a raw foods site The Primal Diet: Where It Goes Wrong, and the article makes lots of statements that are easy to refute, but I wonder what others think of the following):

...William C. Roberts MD, author of 1300 scientific publications, numerous cardiology textbooks, and editor of the American Journal of Cardiology for a quarter of a century said it best.

In his 2008 editorial, "The Cause of Atherosclerosis," published in the journal Nutrition in Clinical Practice, Roberts says that, "Atherosclerosis is easily produced in nonhuman herbivores (eg, rabbits, monkeys) by feeding them
    a high cholesterol (eg, egg yolks) or high saturated