Thread: Getting enough calories for breastfeeding...HELP page

Crystalftw is offline Junior Member

Question Getting enough calories for breastfeeding...HELP

Primal Fuel
    Before you post the link- I have read the entry on MDA about it. Hopefully some nursing moms can give me some tips.
    I just started eating primal after "healthy eating" for about a week- being constantly hungry I for the most part could hit my 1200 calorie min. Started primal tuesday and have not been hungry enough to get even close to 1200. I have 2-3 eggs in the morning fried in coconut oil and some bacon grease w/bison&beef breakfast sausage(2-3 links) and raw organic spinach. Honestly last night I forced myself to eat dinner bc I'm concerned about losing my milk.
    I am no primal expert, but I am in the process of reading The Primal Blueprint and have been reading MDA like crazy! So pls be nice bc I am GENUINELY concerned.
    Body stats:
    5'7
    250lbs- 28.5 body fat.
    I'm 12 weeks post-partum and have breastfed my prior children, my eldest for 2.5 years.
    <3-Crystal

MamaGrok is offline Senior Member
    Let's see, you had maybe 40gm protein for breakfast? And forced down dinner, so it looks like enough food for that day. Are you saying you used to be constantly hungry and now aren't hungry enough? It sounds like what you ate yesterday, unless the dinner was small and/or low-fat, was enough, but I'm not sure. Certainly meat & fat is more calorie-dense than fluff, so it may look like too little. Did you run your calories through fitday or something like it? I don't, but it might give you a picture if you don't it a few times.

I've been nursing for 13 years and it seems like that's enough ... but it's no fun to force yourself. You could split your breakfast between bkfst and lunch, but honestly, I'd do it the way you are - you could work a leptin reset in there without even trying!
    5'4" 36yo mother to five sweeties & married to their AMAZING DaddyGrok