Thread: Will I Gain Weight Before Loosing It? page

asiabird01 is offline Junior Member

Will I Gain Weight Before Loosing It?

Shop Now
    Hi everybody,
    Just curious about this, so Conventional Wisdom (and doctor after doctor) told me that if I wanted to be lean and get rid of body fat I should exercise more, and eat less. That's what I did. I'd jog for 30 - 60 minutes 3 or 4 times a week, do Bikram Yoga a couple of times a week, and try to keep my calories under 1000. That's where I've been operating now for about 2 years.

I haven't lost any fat, and I'm not lean at all.

So I'm converted over to Primal, but since I'm now eating at least double the amount of calories that I was eating before AND walking at 55 - 75% of my max heart rate (which pretty much feels like mozying to me), am I going to gain weight for the first 2 - 3 weeks while my body changes from being a carb burning thing to a fat burning machine?

Oh, I'm 30, female, and about 138lbs, and jiggly all over (ew).

What should I expect?

Should I try and do below 50 carbs a day to optimize the process?

Thanks!

Apex Predator is offline Senior Member
    You may or may not gain weight- though weight doesn't matter- you'll need to heal from the poison you gave your body. There is some adjusting- calories up and down, carbs up and down, exercise, etc. Focus on health first, fat loss second.

Oh, and throw away the scale. You don't need it.

Raiken3712 is offline Senior Member
    I don't like the idea of throwing away something I paid money for myself :P. I do agree that you probably shouldn't weight more than once a week though, and don't get discouraged when you don't see numbers because there are a bunch of factors to think about. You could be gaining muscle or water weight.