Thread: Veggie Burger an oxymoron in primal diet? page

Jeepgirl is offline Junior Member

Veggie Burger an oxymoron in primal diet?

Primal Fuel
    Today is my first day in the Primal world and I am exploring possible foods. I LOVE Boca burgers and the carb count looks ok, ( 6 grams, 0 sugar) I am wondering if the grain content will nix them. I am imagining a grilled bb on top of a huge romaine, cucumber and tomato salad, drizzled with balsamic vinegar and olive oil. Thanks for any guidance!!
    Last edited by Jeepgirl; 07-10-2011 at 06:45 PM. Reason: misspell

Hedonist is offline Senior Member
    Yes, sorry. Primal is flexible about some things but soy and wheat are forbidden. Are you uncomfortable eating meat? Or just like the Bocas? Tempeh and other fermented soy products are OK, though not ideal for Primal.
    Ancestral Health Info

I design websites and blogs for a living. If you would like a blog or website designed by someone who understands Primal, see my web page.

Primal Blueprint Explorer My blog for people who are not into the Grok thing. Since starting the blog, I have moved close to being Archevore instead of Primal. But Mark's Daily Apple is still the best source of information about living an ancestral lifestyle.

New Cave Lady here is offline Junior Member
    I used to love those veggie burgers, then i realized that the soy in them is all genetically engineered and that alone stopped me from buying them. I
    really miss them! But i will never eat them again due to the genitically modified soy!

iniQuity is offline Senior Member
    You could probably make your own. I worked at a restaurant where the veggie pattie was made with JUST vegetables, don't recall any grains, and nothing to bind them. The restaurant went belly-up but the owners kept selling the veggie burgers. Now they are using the 'vegan' association to sell even more.